Tuesday, 14 January 2014

Christiano Ronaldo is The 2013 FIFA World Player

Real Madrid star forward Christiano Ronaldo has won the 2013 FIFA Ballon d'Or, fighting off competition from both Franck Ribery and Lionel Messi ,who finish in second and third-place respectively.

Christiano was considered a strong contender this year by football stakeholders and Ballon d'Or king makers giving his intense commitment to clinch the elite award that has eluded him for years. Frank Ribery was a strong contender giving his team's performance and his contribution thus far having won the Champions league, German league, and FIFA world club cup. Messi has won the coveted award 4 times and just returned to playing after nursing an injury for months giving Ronaldo the underdog advantage.

The FIFA Fif Pro World Eleven 2013 were also presented their awards by Michael Ballack and Zenedine Zidane during the ceremony. Everyone was present to accept their award except Andres Iniesta who could not make it to the ceremony.

FIFA Women's World player of the year award went to Nadine Angerer

FIFA FiF Pro World Eleven 2013 (Dream Team)

Manuel Neuer.
pillipe lahm, Sagio Ramos, Thiago Silva, and Dani Alves.
Andres Iniesta, Xavi, Frank Ribery.
Christiano Ronaldo, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Lionel Messi.

The FIFA Presidential award was presented to Dr, Jacques Rogge for his outstanding contribution to humanity through football and sports.

FIFA World Coach for Women's Football 2013 went to Silvia Neid, Presented by Roy Hodgson.

FIFA World Coach of the year for Men's football 2013 went to Jupp Heynckes, also presented by Roy Hodgson.

FIFA Fair Play award 2013 went to the Afghanistan Football Federation.

FIFA Puskas award 2013 went to Zlatan Ibrahimovic.

A new Award category was started this year, Honorary Ballon d'Or/Ballon d'Or Prix  d'Honneur. It was given to Pele.

No comments:

Post a Comment